Avoid Fines by Training Workers
Not training your workers regarding COVID-19 can result in fines and lawsuits. Sixteen states have passed emergency temporary standards requiring employers to train their workers on COVID-19 workplace safety protocols. Every state enforces things differently, so it is important you know what your state requires.
Failing to comply with those training requirements can open up a company to fines, and even worse, a lawsuit..
Those who fail to provide training also reduce their defense in lawsuits.
Lawsuits for coronavirus-related wrongful death, negligence, and intentional infliction of emotional distress, citing lack of training among other issues, are being filed.
Fines, for example, range from $7,000 to $70,000 in Michigan, Oregon $2,000 to $14,000 for willful violations, and Virginia $12,726 for serious violations and up to $127,254 for willful violations.
So check out our state’s requirements to ensure your employees are trained and your business avoids a fine or a lawsuit.
Source: Angela Childers, Business Insurance